Stevia success (well, getting there, anyway)!

The Catlins has decided to skip spring and continue with winter for a few months but that hasn’t stopped the STEVIA! After taking the precious seedlings to bed with me every night for two weeks to protect them from rodent attack, and religiously carrying them into the warm living room every morning to place them on a sunny (sun – this spring – haha!) window ledge, they have finally decided to put on a little growth. So much so that I’ve now potted them up. Don’t they look great? I am SO tempted to pick off a little leaf to see if it really is a billion times sweeter than sugar (or whatever it is ‘they’ claim) but I’m holding back. If it ever stops sleeting and hailing outside, these little darlings really may  be my sugar alternative of choice. Must dash – I hear them calling for a little liquid plant food – and who am I to deny them whatever they ask for!

This is the biggest of the clan. He's 3 cm high.

This is the biggest of the clan. He’s 3 cm high.

 

And these are his friends. I've got another couple which I've popped into the glass house as a trial (to see if they survive out Antarctic conditions in the semi-outdoors).

And these are his friends. I’ve got another couple which I’ve popped into the glass house as a trial (to see if they survive our Antarctic conditions in the semi-outdoors).

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under LET'S GET GARDENING

Leave a Reply

